A gift of tea!

March 27, 2010 at 7:18 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )

I got an awesome present for my birthday that I feel I must share-tea! Green Tea! I luv tea, especially green tea. The tea’s awesome.  It was a whole green tea kit with four types of green tea, a book and a strainer.  And I tried one kind so far.  It’s so good! There’s even a kind with popcorn in it!  Well I wouldn’t really want to give any way…just tell you about it…unless you happen to be Lady Gaga.

Well my B-day’s on the 30th and Gaga’s is on the 28th.  I’ll be celebrating my birthday on hers when I go to see Wicked and drink  some delicious green tea. Gaga posted a pic of herself with an early birthday gift of a “communist red” tea cup.  Wonder if she got some tea to go with it?

Kagehime

Permalink Leave a Comment

Reading on the Road

August 10, 2008 at 8:45 pm (books) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

A lot of people can’t read while riding in the car, but I’m glad I can because the trip to and back from Texas was long.  It was 11 hours one day and 10 the next to and the same back.  I only took two books with me, knowing that I read slower in the car, because of all that bouncing so I was afraid of running out.  I couldn’t read at night or anything in the hotel. I read Son of a Witch by Greg Maguire going down and First Truth by Dawn Cook coming back.

Son of a Witch, the sequel to Wicked, followed the story of Elphaba’s son, Lir.  Throughout the whole novel no one is completely certain of his heritage, but for the most part Lir accepts this.  Lir is in search of his own identity and self-identitifying skill that he believes he lacks. There is also the question of the use of religion and what is honor more so than the question of good and evil in Wicked although it touched on that as well.

First Truth is the first of four books in the Truth series.  I had found out about it on one of those lists that people make on Amazon.  It sounded good to me so I just checked it out the library to see and I was right.  It proved to be an interesting and quick read.  The only problem I had with the book was the ending, because it seemed abrupt, but I found out that the first two books in the series had once been one. In the book Alissa, lives in a world with magic only she and most of the people don’t know magic even exists.  She is sent away by her mother on a journey to the hold where is she turn learn magic from a master and become a keeper.  Only problem is the masters are all gone and there remains an insane keeper.  The book is good and like one of the commenters said its for fans of Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley which I am fans of both.  It kind of reminds me of Patricia Wrede’s Lyra books for some reason too.

I am going to try to finish Hidden Truth, the second in the truth series, at least by sometime tomorrow because Breaking Dawn just came into the library and once I start reading that I don’t plan on stopping.

Kagehime

Permalink 1 Comment

Mirror, Mirror

July 31, 2008 at 2:05 am (books) (, , , , , , , , , )

I read another of Greg Maguire’s books, Mirror, Mirror which is an alternate telling of Sleeping Beauty.  It reminded me somewhat of the manga Ludwig Kakumei by Yuki Kaori in which the mangaka tells some twisted fairy tales.  I think fans of one may like the other.  Mirror, Mirror took place in Italy doing the time of Cesare so the wicked stepmother is his sister Lucrezia. The problem I had with the book was that it had too many details, I guess in an attempt to show the time period, about what was going on politically when it really had nothing to do with the story. I guess people who are into that time period may enjoy that, but it kinda just sounded like mumble jumble to me and didn’t bring anything to the story.  It’s still a fairly decent book, but not nearly as good as Wicked.

Kagehime

Ludwig Kakumei

Permalink Leave a Comment

Oh so Wicked

June 17, 2008 at 2:53 pm (books) (, , , , , , , , , )

Wicked

So I just finished the book Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West.  I know it made a hit a few years ago (maybe more than a few) when it came out then went on Broadway so I’m behind reading it.  The marketing of the book is really smart.  How many green books do you see out there? 

I bet its really interesting to see on Broadway.  I just hope that what’s used to make the witch green is safer than what was used in the movie the Wizard of Oz. I mean the witch almost burned up. 

Throughout the whole book there is the question of what is evil, where does it come from, and when is someone evil.  I think those are good questions for someone considered the wicked witch of the west.  I mean she gets labeled as evil but is far from the most evil character in the novel. 

I admit to being biased when starting the book because the image of the wicked witch of the west from the movie was in my mind.  Now I kind of want to go back and watch it.  I’ve also never read the original books by L Frank Baum.

Kagehime

PS. Don’t you wonder what Glinda is whispering?

Permalink 1 Comment