VCU’s coming for you Butler!

March 30, 2011 at 9:51 pm (cartoons, comics) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

VCU vs. ButlerKagehime

Permalink Leave a Comment

Reading on the Road

August 10, 2008 at 8:45 pm (books) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

A lot of people can’t read while riding in the car, but I’m glad I can because the trip to and back from Texas was long.  It was 11 hours one day and 10 the next to and the same back.  I only took two books with me, knowing that I read slower in the car, because of all that bouncing so I was afraid of running out.  I couldn’t read at night or anything in the hotel. I read Son of a Witch by Greg Maguire going down and First Truth by Dawn Cook coming back.

Son of a Witch, the sequel to Wicked, followed the story of Elphaba’s son, Lir.  Throughout the whole novel no one is completely certain of his heritage, but for the most part Lir accepts this.  Lir is in search of his own identity and self-identitifying skill that he believes he lacks. There is also the question of the use of religion and what is honor more so than the question of good and evil in Wicked although it touched on that as well.

First Truth is the first of four books in the Truth series.  I had found out about it on one of those lists that people make on Amazon.  It sounded good to me so I just checked it out the library to see and I was right.  It proved to be an interesting and quick read.  The only problem I had with the book was the ending, because it seemed abrupt, but I found out that the first two books in the series had once been one. In the book Alissa, lives in a world with magic only she and most of the people don’t know magic even exists.  She is sent away by her mother on a journey to the hold where is she turn learn magic from a master and become a keeper.  Only problem is the masters are all gone and there remains an insane keeper.  The book is good and like one of the commenters said its for fans of Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley which I am fans of both.  It kind of reminds me of Patricia Wrede’s Lyra books for some reason too.

I am going to try to finish Hidden Truth, the second in the truth series, at least by sometime tomorrow because Breaking Dawn just came into the library and once I start reading that I don’t plan on stopping.

Kagehime

Permalink 1 Comment

Going down to Texas

August 2, 2008 at 3:41 pm (books, music, Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Well I’ll be going to start my journey down to Texas tomorrow. I’ll be gone about a week so no blog for a little while.  It’s going to be a road trip in a time of high gas.  How smart is that? 

For the trip I downloaded some new songs from i tunes.  I had a little problem with downloaded because of some confusion between the old and new versions, but once it was completely updated there were no problems.  Here’s my list:

Viva la vida    Coldplay

Violet Hills    Coldplay

All along the Watchtower Jimi Hendrix

Purple Haze   Jimi Hendrix

California Dreamin’   Mamas and Papas

A Hazy Shade of Winter  Bangles

Eternal Flame       Bangles

Falling Down        Duran Duran

Jumper                 Third Eye Blind

Four Minutes       Madonna, Justin Timberlake, Timberland

American Boy     Estelle and Kanye

Island in the Sun   Weezer

No Rain               Blind Melon

Jealousy              Gin Blossoms

White Room        Cream

Dirty Little Secret   All American Rejects

What I noticed from my list is a lot of 90s music sounds like it came from either the late 60s or 70s while music now kind of sounds like 80s.  Like these are the children of those generations playing music now.

I am also hoping to be lucky enough to get my hands on a copy of Breaking Dawn from the library today since it just came out today so I could read it on my trip, but I’m starting to have doubts that my hold on it will let me get it today.  Oh well… I have other books to read.

Kagehime

Permalink 1 Comment