Reading on the Road

August 10, 2008 at 8:45 pm (books) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

A lot of people can’t read while riding in the car, but I’m glad I can because the trip to and back from Texas was long.  It was 11 hours one day and 10 the next to and the same back.  I only took two books with me, knowing that I read slower in the car, because of all that bouncing so I was afraid of running out.  I couldn’t read at night or anything in the hotel. I read Son of a Witch by Greg Maguire going down and First Truth by Dawn Cook coming back.

Son of a Witch, the sequel to Wicked, followed the story of Elphaba’s son, Lir.  Throughout the whole novel no one is completely certain of his heritage, but for the most part Lir accepts this.  Lir is in search of his own identity and self-identitifying skill that he believes he lacks. There is also the question of the use of religion and what is honor more so than the question of good and evil in Wicked although it touched on that as well.

First Truth is the first of four books in the Truth series.  I had found out about it on one of those lists that people make on Amazon.  It sounded good to me so I just checked it out the library to see and I was right.  It proved to be an interesting and quick read.  The only problem I had with the book was the ending, because it seemed abrupt, but I found out that the first two books in the series had once been one. In the book Alissa, lives in a world with magic only she and most of the people don’t know magic even exists.  She is sent away by her mother on a journey to the hold where is she turn learn magic from a master and become a keeper.  Only problem is the masters are all gone and there remains an insane keeper.  The book is good and like one of the commenters said its for fans of Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley which I am fans of both.  It kind of reminds me of Patricia Wrede’s Lyra books for some reason too.

I am going to try to finish Hidden Truth, the second in the truth series, at least by sometime tomorrow because Breaking Dawn just came into the library and once I start reading that I don’t plan on stopping.

Kagehime

Permalink 1 Comment

Mirror, Mirror

July 31, 2008 at 2:05 am (books) (, , , , , , , , , )

I read another of Greg Maguire’s books, Mirror, Mirror which is an alternate telling of Sleeping Beauty.  It reminded me somewhat of the manga Ludwig Kakumei by Yuki Kaori in which the mangaka tells some twisted fairy tales.  I think fans of one may like the other.  Mirror, Mirror took place in Italy doing the time of Cesare so the wicked stepmother is his sister Lucrezia. The problem I had with the book was that it had too many details, I guess in an attempt to show the time period, about what was going on politically when it really had nothing to do with the story. I guess people who are into that time period may enjoy that, but it kinda just sounded like mumble jumble to me and didn’t bring anything to the story.  It’s still a fairly decent book, but not nearly as good as Wicked.

Kagehime

Ludwig Kakumei

Permalink Leave a Comment