Ife and the Crowded Museum

May 2, 2011 at 11:23 pm (art) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Line to see Picasso

The Richmond Times Dispatch took the same picture on the same day as me but from the other side. In their image you can see the rabbit statue whereas I’m standing by the rabbit statue. I’m not sure if I’m in their pic or not…it kinda looks like me…could be my imagination… anyways they used their pic on Sunday so they used it before me, but then again they are paid to use the pics and write an article while I’m not. So a few days later isn’t a bad thing.

Richmond’s turning out to be quite the artsy city.  On the same day as Arts in the Park (for which artists set up booths to show off and sell their art in the park) I went to the Virginia Art Museum better known as VMFA thinking that the art crowd would be at Arts in the Park. Oh they were there. I’m sure I couldn’t have found parking there, but I almost didn’t at the VMFA either. They had buses parked out there too all to see the fantastic Picasso. I was so glad I wasn’t going to see that exhibit. It was so crowded last time I became claustrophobic or something…and this crowd was much worse than when I had gone. In fact when I had gone in there wasn’t much of a line at all. More like waves of people allowed in.

Ife Statue

Instead of Picasso I was there to see the Nigerian art exhibit from Ife which was absolutely fantastic.  They had made statues made from copper in a lost method. Now copper’s not like gold which is easy to mold. It has a high melting point which makes it extremely difficult to work with. Normally tin is added to the copper to make Bronze which I’m more familiar with people using. I’ve never heard of using pure copper to sculpt with, but they did in Ife with impeccable skill. One of the great things about having this exhibit at the same time as Picasso is that Cubism is largely based on African art.  And the Ife art as some of the best statues I’ve ever seen (and I’ve seen a large amount- in Italy, in museums and college campuses. Mostly they don’t compare. Like most other artists don’t compare to Picasso. It is rare to have both technical skill and vision and he had both.

Have you been to Picasso or Ife? Or better yet both?

Kagehime

1 Comment

  1. JC said,

    Cool, I remember seeing pictures of those from my art history class. Also, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Picasso in real life. Someday though, someday…….

Leave a Reply

