Metropolis Today

December 19, 2010 at 11:13 pm (anime, fashion, movies, music, pop culture) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

I find it amazing the effect a single silent film from the 1920s continues to have today on pop culture.  I only recently saw the movie, but before seeing it I knew every reason I should watch it. Many of my favorite people were influenced by it.  I didn’t need any other reason to watch it.

Osamu Tezuka, “The God of Manga” drew a comic called Metropolis based on the film. Later in 2001 a movie based on this manga was made. It is one of the few animes I’ve watched over and over. The others belong to Miyazaki. Its got great music (Ray Charles anyone?) and the visuals are astounding, but of course they would be. The visuals for the silent film are still amazing  to me and  living in the 21 century. I’m still wondering how heck they did all that in the 20s. True it ended up being the most expensive silent film ever made and if you add for inflation it is still one of the most expensive, but they just didn’t have technology like we do today so how’d they do those city scenes for one?

If you haven’t seen the vid for Queen’s Radio Gaga you should and if you haven’t heard the song know that it is awesome and you’re missing out. They used real footage from the silent film which I hadn’t realized until I watched it, because it just looks like its black and white, not that old kind of black and white that really sux, but just black and white. Of course not all of the vid is from Metropolis, but it is hard to tell the difference.

Then there’s Lady Gaga who got her name from Radio Gaga. She did a series of photos with the photagrapher David LaChapelle. 

There are more people influenced by this movie such as Janelle Monae, but I’ve got to listen more to her music before I include her in the list of favorite people. Looks like she’s fairly cool to me and her music isn’t bad From looking at her album covers really connected to the idea of the film.  Thierry Mugler robotic outfits very much like the robot in the film, but I don’t know if he watched this or not.

Hmm I could just be obsessed with robots…but I think there is something more here. If you’ve got anything anything influenced by this film please share.

Kagehime

2 Comments

  1. jlwagn said,

    Don’t forget Madonna’s video for the song Express Yourself. Similar in mood and imagery to Metropolis, and then it ends with a quote from that movie.
    Also, this video reminds of Lady Gaga’s Alejandro and Janet Jackson’s Rhythm Nation. Am I saying that today’s pop divas are actually various disguises of the robot Maria? Maybe.

  2. kagehime said,

    I can’t believe I forgot about Madonna’s vid. That definitely belongs on this list!

Leave a Reply

