Copycat

December 6, 2010 at 7:28 pm (commercial, technology) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

I’m going to talk about a commercial.  Talking about ads is part of what I do anyways. But this one I noticed for this one to its similarity to the Apple ads.  At first I thought it was. I knew that I’m a PC was not planning to be in any more commercials so I just assumed they got new people for the roles.  So much for assuming. Its actually a T-mobile ad. I almost mistook it except it was bashing the iphone for its AT& T service. If I didn’t pay attention to it I would have except I paid attention because of the similarity.

I don’t want to run out for 4G with Tmobile.  In fact I don’t want Tmobile.  Tmobile’s currently 4th in the race for phone service.  What does this say about its service? Is it good? How far is its coverage? I know this ad is claiming Tmobile is better than AT&T, but at least AT&T is number 2 in the race.

And the other thing about this commercial I still think iphone from seeing it. I don’t think about whatever other phone is associated with Tmobile. I might not know any phones with Tmobile…the Evo? And do people get the service for the phone? Or the phone for the service? If people get the service for the phone I’m not sure how helpful this ad is, but maybe it’ll get people thinking.

Personally I have Verizon because they bought out Alltel. So far I haven’t had any service problems, but I’ve yet to upgrade to a smartphone.  If I do upgrade I don’t want Tmobile unless they can show me awesomeness.  My eyes are currently set on the iphone. The Droid seems more technologically advanced than what I would have use for.  Really I had someone show me all the thing the ipod Touch could do before I decided to get one.  I wouldn’t have bothered to get it otherwise. Maybe the Droid isn’t actually more advanced, but that’s exactly what I think from seeing the commercials and I’ve seen more people with iphones than Droids so its not on my list to get or even look at.

What did you think of this ad? And what kind of smartphone do you have or want? 

Kagehime

1 Comment

  1. Is it truly 1984? « Kagehime's Pop Heart said,

    […] the only company making digs at Apple commercials right now. Tmobile got there first with the I’m a mac and pc campaign they’ve been […]

Leave a Reply

