Art isn’t all that serious, yo

November 13, 2010 at 3:55 pm (art, pop culture) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

If I just told you that the National Gallery in DC has some awesome art you could rightly say duh. They’ve got Da’vinci, Michelangelo, Rembrandt, and Vermeer to name a few famous artists in this gallery. Not that I knew that when I went in.  I guess I thought it was all American art or something.  I don’t know why though. I’m so glad I was wrong. The great art was great, but it was even better, because a lot of it was hilarious. There are things going on in some paintings that aren’t exactly normal, you just have to look at it closely enough.  Which could get you in trouble.  It got me talked to more than once. 

This paintings bigger than the pic I took of it, but seriously the dog is biting the horse in a very bad place.

Look at this painting. Dude looks just like Professor Quirrell, that teacher in Harry Potter that was hiding Voldemort on his head.

Think about what you could do with this? People could give humor tours in museums to point out these hilarious bits and connections to our culture today.  It would definitely attract young people.

Kagehime

PS. Come on VMFA. This could take you to the next level.

3 Comments

  1. Amiable Amiable said,

    This post is hilarious and I’m inspired to go on a self-guided humor tour of one of my local museums. I wouldn’t be able to contain my laughter in its solemn galleries, and snapping photos of art snobs aghast at my snickering would make for some fun pics, too.

  2. JC said,

    Those tours truly would be eye opening. When the guard overheard, he walked up to the painting and smiled for like two minutes! It would introduce a whole new audience to art!

  3. Amiable Amiable said,

    Just goes to show that guards just wanna have fun, just like girls!

Leave a Reply

