Women of Rock

August 30, 2010 at 8:59 pm (music, pop culture) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

 

I just read an article about Heart in Rolling Stone (from Sept this year not from that old one where the pics from) that saddens me, but at the same time showed me how Heart is even more awesome than I thought. After their hits Barracuda, Crazy on You, and Magic Man in the late 70s someone had to come up and get them to do power ballads, that granted are REALLY awesome, but if that wasn’t what they wanted to do they shouldn’t have have been moved into that direction.  I knew that shiz was going down when Heart came out in the late 70s, but come on. Still today? Last post I said Gretchen Wilson plans to be the first female to release a Southern Rock Album and had to create her own record label to do it.

Women can rock it out. They gave Joan Jett shiz for playing the guitar.  Something about it being just for men. Puh, and I heard they convinced Lady Gaga to do pop instead of rock, telling her it was too hard for a female to break into rock. Although the Gaga concert I went to was rock.  I don’t think they can keep that away from her.  She’s gonna do what she wants now. (And rock may not actually be selling as much anyways.)

And it’s only “ok” when for a female to do rock if she’s vocals. Gwen Stefani- No Doubt, Haley Williams- Paramore, Shirley Manson- Garbage and for something a little more obscure check out Lacuna Coil. If you want to rock I say do it. Now I’ve gotta practice more on my guitar.

Kagehime

2 Comments

  1. World Wide News Flash said,

    Women of Rock…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. kagehime said,

    Thanks 🙂 Glad you like it

Leave a Reply

