I made it to The Gap

April 3, 2010 at 2:58 pm (commercial, fashion) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I’m not a huge fan of The Gap.  I never was and going in did not change my mind.  In three words its neat, clean and denim.  Even the scents are clean.  Not to mention its a bit more expensive than I’d like.  I’m not going to buy 80 dollar jeans, however nice they are.  Even if I did have the money the Gap’s not exciting enough for me to shop at.  Neat and Clean is ok, but that’s not exactly what I’m looking for in clothing.  And what’s the whole thing about 1969? I didn’t see any hippy stuff going on in there.  Lucky Brand does that much better than The Gap.  The music wasn’t all that good. It varied between soft rock and some slow weird techno that sounded like something I could have made which means not good. There weren’t too many pictures of people in the store, two big posters, and some little ones scattered around.  It didn’t help me figure out who are the people wearing the clothes. 

So who exactly is The Gap advertising to? Its kind of a mystery.  I should have gotten it walking in the store.  I didn’t.  And looking at their commericals with Sarah Jessica Parker and Common or their Christmas/Hannaka/ Kwanza one I thought they were looking for fun, cool people, but in the store it was like they were looking for boring people who like normal jeans.  Not a ripped one in sight. Just the basics: straight, boot, I don’t even know if they had wide. But the quality of the jeans was good.  Better than some places, but I would rather shop at Old Navy which is the same company anyways. But Old Navy has better commercials and is much cooler in general.

Unlike the other stores I had to look at for my grad school ap: Aeropostale, Abercrombie and Fitch, American Eagle, and J Crew, The Gap sales children’s clothes.  Aeropostale and American Eagle attract tweens who can pick out their own clothing, but not children whose parents are doing the shopping.  All of them have mens and womens clothing.  But all the rest of the stores at least had a definite brand image of whose coming into the store.  Aeropostale with the bright colors, Tees, and hoodies is fairly youthful although I did see an entire family, the dad, mom, and daughters, all wearing Aeropostale.  American Eagle is youthful with a kind of laid back, and beachy hemp wearing. Abercrombie’s like a club, for partiers and “Hot” people, while J Crew is more mature than the other stores. College age and up I’d say. The Gap is somewhat mature with its basics: sweaters, jeans, and the like.  The image seems to be basic and neat, classic.  But when there are more exciting stores to shop in  with more character and your commercials aim for something else it gets all jumbled up as to who should shop in there.

People pay for the brand image more than the. clothing.  Why would they be interested in buying from a store with a confused image? And with everyone trying to be uber fasionable now days are basics selling if they aren’t cheap? People will buy basics, normal jeans and sweaters, but if you can get that at Walmart for under $30 are you willing to shell out $80 even if it is better quality?

Of course it could just be the Gap at Chesterfield Townscenter and it may not reflect all other Gaps, but there is a reason I never shop at The Gap.

Kagehime

Leave a Reply

