Julie & Julia

January 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm (food, movies) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I saw the movie Julie and Julia a few days ago.  I thought it was good, but it seemed kind of long, and it made me really hungry.  The food looked and sounded really good.   I really want some of Julia Child’s beef stew.  So I got the cookbook from the library and then realized beef’s expensive and so are a lot of those recipes.  Not to mention how long the cookbook is. Julie really was determined to go through it and blog about it.  Consistent blogging is tough.  I would know, considering how often I take breaks.  I just got off one.  And coming back is always hard.  

Julie’s blog was all about how she got through Julia Child’s cookbook.  It was actually more of a year long project which attracted a lot of attention.  You can check it out here from the beginning if you’re interested. There’s a book too.  Seems interesting to me.  Now if only I can think of something that interesting. 

I don’t know if I’ll make the beef stew.    Although beef is cheaper now because of the economy.  Fancy restaurants aren’t buying up the good cuts, so I guess now would be a good time to have beef stew.  But cheaper is not cheap.  Istill have to check about the price, but it looked good in the movie and I like trying new things.  It might be worth spending a few extra bucks for.

Kagehime

Leave a Reply

