Percy Jackson & The Olympians #1

October 21, 2009 at 11:52 am (books) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I just finished reading the first of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, The Lightning Thief in preparation for the upcoming movie.  I liked the book a lot considering that it wasn’t at my reading level at all.  It really was written for children.  I loved seeing all the Greek myth references.  I just wonder how much I would have liked the books if I knew nothing at all about Greek mythology, like some kids out there that may be reading these books.  Most of the references are considered common knowledge, whether they are or not depends on who you are, like Zeus, Poseidon, Hades, Athena, and Medusa.  Some of the references were really obscure like the giant Procrustes who enjoys making people fit beds and Papisae, the mother of the minotaur. 

Only thing I had a problem with about the myth was that Athena had a daughter.  Like Artemis she pledged to stay a virgin so what’s she doing having a child? Except that since the female goddesses all pledged eternal virginity or faithfulness (except Aphrodite), I guess the author wanted to have at least one child of a female goddess.  And technically Athena may have had a child, that she did not give birth to, but I’m not going in to that right now.  It was rather gross.

And I think the author used the common occurance for ADHD and dyslexia for his advantage in the story.  And if any kids with these conditions do read this story or hear it they get to feel special in a good way for once.

Kagehime

1 Comment

  1. bet365 said,

    how are you I was luck to come cross your blog in bing
    your post is superb
    I get a lot in your website really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you site is really quality
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

