15 minutes of fame

October 9, 2009 at 8:54 pm (art) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

“In the future, everyone will be world-famous for 15 minutes.”  I don’t know about EVERYONE, but for sure a lot of people.  For sure a lot of people are famous for doing what?  Like Jordan or Katie Price, whatever her name is, the people on The Hills and its various spin offs and other reality shows or the gossip bloggers themselves like Perez Hilton.  Then there are all the one hit wonders, arists who made one good song then poof they’re gone.  There are also people like Susan Boyle and Kelly Clarkson with real talent who become famous through talent shows.

Thing about the internet is it can catapult people to fame, but it can also swallow them whole.  Who is not on the internet today? If you search your own name can’t you find yourself.  You probably have a lot of pics of yourself online too.  I know I do, but how many people know about you? 

Even if you do not gain 15 minutes and only get 15 seconds with all the technology at our desposal we can act like we’ve got fame for as long as we like.  We can be the paparazzi for ourselves and everyone else, film makers, artists, singers, actors, writers, and put it online for everyone to see.

So here’s an attempt at being Warhol.

warholme

 

 Yes that’s me and I look nothing like Marilyn Monroe.  Maybe next time I’ll use actual photographs like Warhol.

Kagehime

2 Comments

  1. kogepannyanko said,

    Hmm….I think you’ve drawn yourself with too many teeth or something. And your face looks longer….but it’s a cool concept. You should try wearing make-up like that….lol, just kidding.

  2. kagehime said,

    I was cheesing. Its hard to draw yourself cheesing. And yeah I think I added too much of a neck…I’m going to draw myself again soon and hopefully better.

Leave a Reply

