The Host and altruism

June 16, 2009 at 6:36 pm (books) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I just finished reading The Host by Stepanie Meyer, you know the Twilight author.  I found a few similarities not only in the ideas of motherhood in the Twilight series but with some of the later books in Orson Scott Cards’ Ender’s Game series.  There is the idea that motherhood is desired no matter how much pain is necessary to go through it.  If you read Breaking Dawn you could never forget that horrifying birth scene.  In the Host the mothers essentially die when they give completely of themselves in order to give birth. 

Well both Stephanie Meyer and Orson Scott Card are Mormon, and I haven’t seen the occurance of such sacrifice and altruism demanded of the mother in other books.  Since I don’t know too much about the Mormon religion I have to ask is this a treasured value?

The book is really good though and I recommend it, especially if you liked Twilight although remember it is a completely different story with different characters. I didn’t find any of the characters dislikeable, like I mustly found Bella, but I didn’t find  any of them as loveable as either Edward or Jacob. 

A similarity that I did not like between the Twilight series and The Host, is the amount of pain that the beloved causes the girl, but what’s a love story without that?

Kagehime

Leave a Reply

