So many Ladies

April 8, 2009 at 9:22 pm (music) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Lately I’ve heard about a lot of ladies in music and I’m wondering where this trend is coming from.  Not to mention an over all trend towards weirder names and stage names in place of real ones. 

Two groups with lady in it are Lady Antebellum and Ladytron.  Lady Antebellum is a country band formed in 2006.  I don’t listen to too much country, but they sound good to me. 

Ladytron is an electro-pop band formed in 1999.  Their song Ghosts was recently featured on the show Kings on NBC.  I acctually heard about Ladytron because of the rumour that they are supposed to be working with Christina Aguilera on her next album. 

ladytronPhotoretouched.jpg image by infinitephoto

Some of the people with lady in their name  are Lady Gaga, Ladyhawke, Lady Starlight, and Lady Saw.  After Lady Gaga’s smash hit Just Dance last summer she quickly became the most popular and well known of the ladies.  I only started hearing about the other ladies after her, although some have been out longer.  And with Lady Gaga is word of Lady Starlight who helped her form her awesomeness and I heard is touring with her. 

There’s also Ladyhawke from New Zealand who released her debut album September 2008.  Her music is strongly reminescent of the 80s and her voice kind of reminds me of Stevie Nicks, but then I guess she had a strong influence on her.  You can see a list of her influences on her myspace.

Lady Soveriegn has been a British rapper since 2003.

Lady Saw has been active in the music business longer than the other ladies I named.  She’s been a reggae singer since 1994. 

And then there’s the Barenaked Ladies.  I kind of forgot about them, but I think they qualify as a “Lady” although none of them are Ladies.  Thank you Michelle for the reminder.

The ladies are from totally different geographical locations and backgrounds.  There are tons more ladies outside of music, but I’m not going to go there.  In fact there are probably more in music, but since I can’t think of anymore I’m going to leave it at that. Can you think of any more ladies and who’s your favorite?

Kagehime

7 Comments

  1. 106 said,

    Classic MySpace Layouts…

  2. Disappointed said,

    What?! I thought this was a sight to find ladies! I am very disappointed!

  3. To disappointed said,

    No! The post is obviously about the amount of musical artists who use the name “lady” a little too loosely. Learn how to read!

  4. To disappointed said,

    No! Obviously the post is about musical artists who use the word “lady” a little to loosely. Jeeze, learn how to read!

  5. Michelle said,

    How about the Barenaked Ladies? (true, their ladies not lady, but similar idea there!)

  6. From sister to ladies « Kagehime's Pop Heart said,

    […] ladies, twisted sister, we're not going to take it, William and Mary) I mentioned the amount of ladies there are in music today before, like Lady Gaga, Ladytron, Lady Hawke. Need I go on?  But it […]

  7. Oppockontossy said,

    Hey bro.
    I the first time here.
    It is assured to you it will be pleasant,news Video

    http://www.bookmarkingdofollow.com/entertainment/audrina-patridge-nude-1/

Leave a Reply

