The Devil Wears Prada

April 5, 2009 at 5:48 am (books, fashion, movies) (, , , , , , , , )

So I finally read the book “The Devil Wears Prada.”  It was funny how I ended up with the book and I’m thankful I never had a boss like that.. Phew. Well there are books in the library that are free for anyone to take as long as they have another one to switch it out with, but I’ve never heard of most of the ones out in the open area.  The good books, or at least the known titles and authors, are in an office where most people are not allowed to go.  But since I work at the library, I’m allowed back there.  Anyways, the woman I used to work for had come in for a few so I came to visit her and she was back there.  I had to wait a few minutes in order to talk to her, because she had some business to take care of, so I scanned to titles and picked out “The Devil Wears Prada” and started looking through it.  My former boss then asked if I would like to read the book then told me I could keep it if I wanted to so I took it home and read it. 

So back to the book.  I absolutely liked it. The thing the movie had over the book was the abilty to actually see the clothing (and I liked the music too). The movie also managed to humanize the boss much more than the book.  Since the book was based on the authors real experience in the fashion industry as an assistant I wondered how much was based on fact and how much was fiction.  For one, the main character, Andrea, is described as 5’10 and weighing 115 throughout most of the novel, but says the employees at the magazine made her feel short, fat, and ugly.  This makes it seems like models are working there.  Why else the height and so little weight?  So do people working for fashion magazines really look like this?

Kagehime

1 Comment

  1. Topics about Magazines » The Devil Wears Prada said,

    […] News Media Magazine placed an interesting blog post on The Devil Wears PradaHere’s a brief overview…like models are working there.  Why else the height and so little weight?  So do people working for fashion magazines really look like this? […]

Leave a Reply

