80s Flashback

April 4, 2009 at 11:23 pm (music) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

The 80s really seem to be back and not just in fashion, but musically and mentally as well.  I’ll talk about the fashion in another post, but there has been a lot of reworking of 80s songs recently.

Katy Perry did a cover of Outfield’s Your Love, but retitled it Use your Love.  I see this as her showing us some (good) music that she enjoys.  Also I think she wants to show that her guitar is not a prop.  Near the end of Katy’s song you can hear Rob Base and Dj EZ Rock’s It takes two.

Flo rida used Dead or Alive’s You spin me round (like a record) for the song Right Round. You spin me round actually makes for a good rap song.  I was pleasantly surprised, although at first I didn’t like it.  It took me a little while to get used to, because although it obviously used You spin me round its totally different.

What do you think about the sampling, covers, or otherwise use of 80s songs now?  And What’s with using some lyrics for the chorus for the name of the song?

Kagehime

3 Comments

  1. Topics about Guitar » Archive » 80s Flashback said,

    […] Keyboard Workstation Guide created an interesting post today on 80s FlashbackHere’s a short outline…your Love.  I see this as her showing us some (good) music that she enjoys.  Also I think she wants to show that her guitar is not a prop. […]

  2. How I Lost Thirty Pounds in Thirty Days said,

    Hi, good post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll definitely be coming back to your site.

  3. Capricorn Horoscope said,

    ;”” I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information .*’

Leave a Reply

