Flashback Connection: Layla

August 20, 2008 at 3:05 am (music) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Layla by Derek and the Dominos featuring Eric Clapton and Duane Allman on guitar in 1970 is one of my favorite songs. It was recently ranked number 13 on Rolling Stone’s 100 greatest guitar songs.  It’s a sad love song based on a Persian story by Nezami about the unrequited love between Layla and Majnun. Clapton had seen himself as Majnun who had gone crazy because the girl he loved married another.  He had an unrequited love (at the time) to George Harrison’s wife.  The song itself is so beautiful and sad.  The guitars seem to be crying which ironically Clapton had befriended Harrison while working on While My Guitar Gently Weeps which is number 7 on the rolling stones list.

It’s good to be well rounded.  It can help write or understand songs among other things. 

So here are the lyrics:

What’ll you do when you get lonely
And nobody’s waiting by your side?
You’ve been running and hiding much too long.
You know it’s just your foolish pride.

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.
Layla, I’m begging, darling please.
Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind.

I tried to give you consolation
When your old man had let you down.
Like a fool, I fell in love with you,
Turned my whole world upside down.

Chorus

Let’s make the best of the situation
Before I finally go insane.
Please don’t say we’ll never find a way
And tell me all my love’s in vain.

Chorus

Chorus

Kagehime

Leave a Reply

