Cost of a strat

August 12, 2008 at 2:42 am (music, rant) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

I was walking around best buy looking at the electric keyboards and turned around to see guitars. Really cheap ones that say that they are made by Gibson and Fender.  They were under 200 bucks along with the amp. I look at the box, well only the fender because that’s the kind I bought, in order to compare the cost and see what’s different about it.  So my strat was 399 because it was made in Mexico and that one was around 100 or so, because it came with the amp.  And considering the price of the American made guitars to my Mexican made one… I only hope the quality is more.  Is the difference that is more assembly line style made and that the workers are paid less, because I noticed that where the workers are paid less and less so is the price.

I’m all for cheap stuff. Especially now with the economy and the low weight of the dollar, but I’m for quality and getting the bang for the buck.  Also I don’t like to think that people are being ripped off so badly (workers and consumers both).  What are we doing in are search for cheaper and cheaper goods? And is it even worth it?

The best guitars were said to be made in the late 50s and early 60s before they became mass produced.  I’m sure they were more expensive comparatively and I wonder how much the workers were paid in comparison, but I wonder how much quality is lost.  It is not only the guitar that has become like this.  So many other things have been made cheap so that people can afford them, but as they are made cheap they are outsourced. Businesses try to rip off their workers to make profits and keep costs down.

Kagehime

Leave a Reply

