Reading on the Road

August 10, 2008 at 8:45 pm (books) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

A lot of people can’t read while riding in the car, but I’m glad I can because the trip to and back from Texas was long.  It was 11 hours one day and 10 the next to and the same back.  I only took two books with me, knowing that I read slower in the car, because of all that bouncing so I was afraid of running out.  I couldn’t read at night or anything in the hotel. I read Son of a Witch by Greg Maguire going down and First Truth by Dawn Cook coming back.

Son of a Witch, the sequel to Wicked, followed the story of Elphaba’s son, Lir.  Throughout the whole novel no one is completely certain of his heritage, but for the most part Lir accepts this.  Lir is in search of his own identity and self-identitifying skill that he believes he lacks. There is also the question of the use of religion and what is honor more so than the question of good and evil in Wicked although it touched on that as well.

First Truth is the first of four books in the Truth series.  I had found out about it on one of those lists that people make on Amazon.  It sounded good to me so I just checked it out the library to see and I was right.  It proved to be an interesting and quick read.  The only problem I had with the book was the ending, because it seemed abrupt, but I found out that the first two books in the series had once been one. In the book Alissa, lives in a world with magic only she and most of the people don’t know magic even exists.  She is sent away by her mother on a journey to the hold where is she turn learn magic from a master and become a keeper.  Only problem is the masters are all gone and there remains an insane keeper.  The book is good and like one of the commenters said its for fans of Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley which I am fans of both.  It kind of reminds me of Patricia Wrede’s Lyra books for some reason too.

I am going to try to finish Hidden Truth, the second in the truth series, at least by sometime tomorrow because Breaking Dawn just came into the library and once I start reading that I don’t plan on stopping.

Kagehime

1 Comment

  1. tasithoughts said,

    I read Son of a Witch and found it to be an excellent book.

Leave a Reply

