Music N’ Books

July 31, 2008 at 7:25 pm (books, music) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Lots of times I have a song that becomes stuck in my head thats connected to the book I happen to be reading, because I often listen to music while reading.

While reading New Moon I had the song Owner of a Lonely Heart by Yes in my head and while reading Priestess of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley and Diana Paxton I had Viva la Vida by Coldplay.  Both songs are awesome and had a connection to the book I was reading. With New Moon, the lyrics of Owner of a Lonely Heart goes: owner of a lonely heart much better than owner of a broken heart.  That book had me agreeing with the song because Bella’s heart was broken and well I don’t want to give anything away. 

The book Priestess of Avalon connects Britain to Rome through the marriage (not official though) of the British priestess, Helena, and Constantius and their son Constantine. Both Constantius and Constantine became emperors so both ruled the world. There was a problem between the transtions of the old emperor with the new throughout the book.  Of course the Roman Calvary was involved with the story and the characters found themselves as fair as Jerusalem. And the story has that sadness of having ruled the world in past tense.  And of course there were missionaries in foreign fields because Constantine was spreading Christianity have a certain point.For Priestess of Avalon, Viva la vida has the lyrics: 

I used to rule the world
Seas would rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning I sleep alone
Sweep the streets I used to own

I used to roll the dice
Feel the fear in my enemy's eyes
Listen as the crowd would sing:
"Now the old king is dead! Long live the king!"
One minute I held the key
Next the walls were closed on me
And I discovered that my castles stand
Upon pillars of salt, and pillars of sand

I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman calvary choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can't explain
Once you know there was never, never an honest word
That was when I ruled the world

It was the wicked and wild wind
Blew down the doors to let me in
Shattered windows and the sound of drums
People couldn't believe what I'd become
Revolutionaries wait
For my head on a silver plate
Just a puppet on a lonely string
Oh who would ever want to be king?

I hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman calvary choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can't explain
I know Saint Peter won't call my name
Never an honest work
But that was when I ruled the world
(Ohhhh Ohhh Ohhh)

Hear Jerusalem bells are ringing
Roman calvary choirs are singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can't explain
I know Saint Peter will call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world
(Oooooh Oooooh Oooooh)
Well there are authors like Stephanie Meyer of the Twilight series who write while listening
to music and create playlists for the books.
Here's her New Moon playlist which sadly does not include Owner of A Lonely Heart
although the list is really good and fitting without it:
  • “Do you realize?” – The Flaming Lips (B)
  • “Papercut” – Linkin Park (B)
  • “Hyper Music” – Muse (B)
  • “Apocalypse Please” – Muse (B)
  • “Time Stands Still” – The All-American Rejects (B)
  • “Empty Room” – Marjorie Fair (B)
  • “Unwell” – Matchbox Twenty (B)
  • “Pain” – Jimmy Eat World (B)
  • “Ride” – The Vines (B)
  • “Fix You” – Coldplay (J)
  • “Blueside” – Rooney (B)
  • “Over My Head (Cable Car)” – The Fray (B)
  • “Going Under” – Evanescence (B)
  • “Tautou” – Brand New (B)
  • “Be My Escape” – Relient K (B)
  • “Never Let You Down” – Verve Pipe (J)
  • “Sing For Absolution” – Muse (E)
  • “Ya Mamma” – Fatboy Slim (Generic action-scene music)
  • “D.O.A.” – Foo Fighters
  • “Stare” – Marjorie Fair (B)
  • “Memory” – Sugarcult (B)
  • “The Truth About Heaven” – Armor For Sleep (B)
  • “The Scientist” – Coldplay (E)
  • “Sound of Pulling Heaven Down” – Blue October (E)
Alternates:
  • “Drag” – Placebo (B)
  • “Like A Stone” – Audioslave (B)
  • “World Has Turned and Left Me Here” – Weezer (B)
  • “Best I Ever Had” – Vertical Horizon (B)
  • “My Immortal” – Evanescence (B)
  • “Not the One” – Collective Soul (B)
  • “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of” – U2 (B)
  • “Rest In Pieces” – Saliva (B)
  • “White Flag” – Dido (B)
  • “Everybody’s Changing” – Keane (B)
  • “Unintended” – Muse (B)
  • “I Miss You” – Blink 182 (B)
  • “The Reason” – Hoobastank (E)
  • “Hate Me” (radio edit) – Blue October (E)

The List came from Stepheniemeyer.com. Go there and enjoy. 

Kagehime

1 Comment

  1. Pages tagged "sword song" said,

    […] bookmarks tagged sword song Music N’ Books saved by 9 others     sparkygirl266 bookmarked on 08/04/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

