Mirror, Mirror

July 31, 2008 at 2:05 am (books) (, , , , , , , , , )

I read another of Greg Maguire’s books, Mirror, Mirror which is an alternate telling of Sleeping Beauty.  It reminded me somewhat of the manga Ludwig Kakumei by Yuki Kaori in which the mangaka tells some twisted fairy tales.  I think fans of one may like the other.  Mirror, Mirror took place in Italy doing the time of Cesare so the wicked stepmother is his sister Lucrezia. The problem I had with the book was that it had too many details, I guess in an attempt to show the time period, about what was going on politically when it really had nothing to do with the story. I guess people who are into that time period may enjoy that, but it kinda just sounded like mumble jumble to me and didn’t bring anything to the story.  It’s still a fairly decent book, but not nearly as good as Wicked.

Kagehime

Ludwig Kakumei

Leave a Reply

