Puttin’ on the Ritz

June 21, 2008 at 4:36 am (movies, music) (, , , , , )

I watched High Noon today and I have to say its a really good movie, but I’m going to write about the song Puttin’ on the Ritz.  It’s a song that pops up here and there sometimes.  I think the best scene in Young Frankenstein was when Gene Wilder as Dr. Frankenstein and the monster sang and danced to the song. 

Since that movie had come out in 1974 the song is older than Taco’s version in 1983.  Of course it took me a little while to figure all this out.  The song has had a long history since first being written in 1929.  At first the song didn’t even have the lyrics that its popular for like “Dressed up like a million dollar trooper, trying hard to look like Gary Cooper.” Which brings me back to High Noon.  The song is not in there, but Gary Cooper is and in that film I’d say he was worth more than a million dollar trooper.  He stood up to the bad guys alone without the help of the town.  Fred Astaire has also done the song in the 40s.

I guess a lot of people like the song.  I do and I think that the song’s long existence makes it a classic. 

Kagehime

Puttin on the Ritz

Leave a Reply

