Oh so Wicked

June 17, 2008 at 2:53 pm (books) (, , , , , , , , , )

Wicked

So I just finished the book Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West.  I know it made a hit a few years ago (maybe more than a few) when it came out then went on Broadway so I’m behind reading it.  The marketing of the book is really smart.  How many green books do you see out there? 

I bet its really interesting to see on Broadway.  I just hope that what’s used to make the witch green is safer than what was used in the movie the Wizard of Oz. I mean the witch almost burned up. 

Throughout the whole book there is the question of what is evil, where does it come from, and when is someone evil.  I think those are good questions for someone considered the wicked witch of the west.  I mean she gets labeled as evil but is far from the most evil character in the novel. 

I admit to being biased when starting the book because the image of the wicked witch of the west from the movie was in my mind.  Now I kind of want to go back and watch it.  I’ve also never read the original books by L Frank Baum.

Kagehime

PS. Don’t you wonder what Glinda is whispering?

1 Comment

  1. thekeenanator said,

    Personally, I LOVED the book Wicked and I bought the sequel (Son of a Witch) and can’t read it. It’s not as thrilling. But Mr. McGuire’s other books are great.
    I tend to see the Wicked “emblem” everywhere and I always wonder what Glinda could be whispering. However, I really like the story of how the relationships evolve between the Wizard of Oz characters, especially the witches of which we seem to know little about.
    Glad you enjoyed the book!

Leave a Reply

